Introducing Meglena Ivanova, Author of The Legend of the Moonstone

Today, I have a lovely lady here with me. She is Bulgarian but she is based in New York. She is here to talk about her amazing fantasy trilogy, her favorite reads as well as her pet that sounds kinda intriguing!  What’s more, she’s arrived like a Greek i.e. bearing gifts (for you!)  Read on peeps!

the legend of the moonstone

Brief Summary of The Legend of The Moonstone:

After his participation in a top secret project, the famous teller of legends and myths, Professor of Mineralogy Bernard Stransky, receives a present like no other – an enormous, glittering gem. Little does he know that this legendary stone will bring with it a world of mystery and danger. The stone seems to hold strange powers beyond mere beauty, perhaps even a prophecy that goes with it. The sparkling Moonstone belongs to Professor Stransky but he isn’t the stone’s real master. Part of the hidden heart of the mystery planet, the gem is the subject of an intense worldwide search by Upper Souls whose ultimate duty is to find and restore the stone to its rightful place. According to their beliefs, the special and powerful stone belongs to them and their families. That’s not quite true! The Uppers want to possess the Moonstone only because they think they are the Better part of their tribe. They are ready to do whatever it takes in order to possess the stone and that is all that matters to them! The Moonstone has to be returned back to its guardians but a storm of supernatural and unexpected circumstances as well as some surprising tricks of fate follow in its wake.

Some of the major themes covered in this novel are supernatural; such as exploration of myths and legends, rebirth and reincarnation, encounters with extraterrestrials and time travel. The book is also about friendship, leadership, romance and darkness, survival and death.

Welcome Meglena! So tell us, what has inspired you to write this book?

Pleasure to be here Fros! Well, years ago in Silistra, Bulgaria, I was given a moonstone by a friend who told me it was the stone of tenderness, an amulet of protection for travelers, a gift of lovers for passion, a channel for prophecy and a path to wisdom. I was so thrilled by that gift so I decided to do some research and then to write a story, not with any intention of publishing but to create the kind of story I wanted to read but couldn’t find. It became addictive and I enjoyed it more than reading; a bit of a god complex, I guess. That how I started to write The Legend of the Moonstone: A Series for Kids and Young Adults. The Moonstone is the first stone of the sacred stones collection. I’m currently working on the second book of the trilogy – The Bloodstone. If you want to read more about me and my books, you are welcome to visit my website meglenaivanova.com.

What was the first thing you ever wrote and how old were you then?

The first thing I ever wrote was when I was 8 years old. I wrote a short story about a homeless person, who I met on the street. Me and my friends were walking in the park and we saw a very skinny, old and dirty man who was standing on a bench. My friends laughed at him and then they immediately rushed to walk away. I was shocked to see how sad this homeless old man was. I didn’t say anything to my friends but when I went home later that day I started to think more about him. I wanted to help him to get off the streets and get back on his feet. Back then I didn’t know how to help him, so I decided to start with sorting out all my thoughts of the whole day. When I was finished I saw that I had written a three-page essay that later on won third place in the local literary contest. Inspired by my words some people from my hometown helped that skinny homeless man. I still think of him sometimes and how I felt when was told that he was okay.

What other writing have you done? Anything else published?

I have been writing about so many things like love, death, friendship, betrayal, AIDS, alcohol problems, diseases, gems and mythology, school, historical moments and personalities, relatives, friends, anything you can think of. Now I’m writing more about innocent times, objects, creatures and magic.

I have published a several short stories, a couple of essays and poems, and of course my first book – The Legend of the Moonstone: A Series for Kids and Young Adults.

Any hobbies or interests that you enjoy in your spare time?

When I’m not writing, reading or blogging, I enjoy gaining insights into the psychologies of other cultures and times, cooking or hanging out with my bearded dragon, my friends and my family. I also like to dance, cook and watch movies.

Bearded dragon you said? How intriguing! Is this your pet?

Yes, it’s a lizard. His name is Bieber and he is 2 years old. He is very sweet and he likes to play a lot. He sleeps through the whole night without waking up but sometimes it is hard to get him back in his tank once he starts wandering around the house!

Do you see yourself in any of your characters or do any of them have traits you wish you had?

In my Moonstone story, the characters are based on people that I encounter as well as me. Not directly of course, but certain traits. I find a lot of interesting traits in my friends and family too and I often try to use some of them to make my characters real. You’d be surprised at the gems you can find if you watch the world around you; in fact, I even plan to write a blog post about that sometime in future.

What are you working on at the moment? Tell us a little about your current project(s).

I’m currently writing the second book in the trilogy – The Bloodstone. I am not even done with the book and I have generated so much buzz over the project that I have had several people tell me that they want autographed copies. I am still getting used to these requests. It feels good though… to have people reacting so strongly to the concept of my book. I just can’t wait to finish it and move into the next phase of promoting it. When it is ready I promise I will send it to you for an honest review Fros!

 That’ll be great Meglena, thanks! Which are your favorite authors and what do you love about them?

My favorite authors include Aleko Konstantinov, Ivan Vazov, Dimitar Dimov, Atanas Dalchev, David and Leigh Eddings, Astrid Anna Emilia Lindgren, Anne Rice, H.P. Lovecraft, Stephen King, John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, Lynn Flewelling, Paulo Coelho, Dan Brown, C. S. Lewis, L. J. Smith, J. K. Rowling, Stephanie Meyer, Nick Cassavetes and more. I read a lot of non-fiction and fiction, mostly science fiction & fantasy, also books on religion & spirituality.

 What genres do you read mostly and what are you reading now?

I think reading anything helps. I read mostly fiction. For me reading fiction fires up one’s imagination and the stories can “take you away from life” for a few moments allowing your mind and imagination to wander in a different way. I love reading. At any given time, I have a minimum of 6 books in progress. I am constantly adding books to my “To Read” list. There will never be enough time to read all the books I want to read. Now I’m currently reading Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence, Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson, Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan, The Shadow Throne by Django, The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin, Veil of the Deserters by Jeff Salyards and Sworn in Steel by Douglas Hulick.

 Do you have any advice for other indie authors?

My advice is not to get too stressed out about the lack of sales, lack of reviews, etc. Having fun and a few satisfied readers is what’s most important for a writer who is driven to write.

How do you overcome writer’s block? Any advice on that?

Personally, I start working on something else for a couple of minutes or days. I honestly prefer taking a break before going back to writing but sometimes it takes just writing to get through the block instead of over it. And also when I get an awesome idea, I tend to write it down in a GIANT ideas book! So, every time when I need inspiration, I will open that book and see what I can use from my previously ideas.

 What is the best and the worst part of the writing process for you?

For me the worst thing about writing is finishing the book and having to leave the characters I have become close to and know so well, but there are new people to meet in the book ahead. Of course, because writing doesn’t bring in a regular income, I’m not allowed to take it seriously. Some people still seem to see it as a cute hobby to keep my little brain occupied while I’m sitting at home doing nothing except looking after a toddler. I wish society would accept that some things are worth doing even if they don’t attract a wage.

As of the best part, I love the writing itself. I love just writing for a few hours straight and getting so engrossed that I can hardly remember the differences between the characters and myself. I love when you really get into the zone and you block everything else out and it’s just you and your words and the story. It’s an incredible feeling.

Choose a male and a female character from your book and tell us which actor/actress you’d wish to play them in a film adaptation.

Sometimes it’s fun to think about which actors could best portray the characters in your book.  Sometimes, I think it even helps get a better picture of what these characters could look like and how they could carry themselves.

For my Moonstone story, if it was made into a movie, I’d love to see the following cast:

Jim Broadbent as Professor Stransky;

Jennifer Lawrence or Bella Thorne as Sophia Mortal;

Logan Lerman or Zac Efron as Daniel De Novo;

Jamie Dornan As Christoph Collins.

I’m open for suggestions, so please tell me which actor/actress you’d wish to play my characters in a film adaptation!!!

Tell us about your website/blog. What will readers find there?

At my Blog you will find interviews with remarkable authors about their life, books and writing experience! Also a few articles about self-publishing, guest posts and book recommendations/reviews.

At my Website you will find information about my fantasy novels, short stories and the creative ground it grew out of:  gems and mythology. Why gems and mythology? I suspect because both hold inherent mystery and intrigue for me. And perhaps because I’m a big fan of mythology and legends about innocent times and objects.

Where can people purchase your book?

 People can also purchase my book at Amazon, Smashwords and other online retailers. You can read all about my book by clicking here.

Fros, I wish to give a little gift to your readers today! Anyone can enter! Just send me an email with “Meglena Ivanova” in the subject line, mention that you have read my interview on “Effrosyni’s Blog” and I will send a FREE COPY of the ebook to the first 10 readers who email me!

My email address is: meglena.ivanovany@gmail.com

This is very generous of you! Thank you Meglena for being here with us today!

It’s been a pleasure Fros! Again, thank you kindly for this opportunity.

 

meglena

 

Connect with Meglena

Facebook

YouTube

Pinterest

Goodreads

Google+https://plus.google.com/u/0/118088705452693219921/posts

Smashwordshttps://www.smashwords.com/books/view/377347

Websitehttp://meglenaivanova.com/

Blog – http://meglenaivanova.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

6 responses to “Introducing Meglena Ivanova, Author of The Legend of the Moonstone

  1. Pingback: Interview with me at Effrosyni’s Blog… | Meglena Ivanova·

    • It’s been a great pleasure to have you sweet Meglena!! And very generous of you to give away 10 copies of your books to my readers!! I hope you didn’t get inundated with too many requests although that would be a great indicator of people’s interest to your fascinating book!!!!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My Interview on the Blog of Meglena Ivanova | Effrosyni's Blog·

    • Hello and thank you for your kind comments! I apologise for not replying sooner but your comment wound up in the spam folder and sadly I don’t check that often. Again, thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

