An interview with Kasper Beaumont, author of the Hunters of Reloria Series

Golden Dragon crop

Today, I am pleased to welcome a promising fantasy author from Australia who ‘sneakily’ had me thinking she was a guy at first as we emailed back and forth. When she called herself with an undeniably female name one day (instead of Kasper), the penny finally dropped and the girly giggles that ensued meant that we got even closer ever since (don’t get me wrong; guys can be great pals too but there’s nothing better than a good chinwag with a fellow female on a bad day).

Kasper’s first book in the series – “Elven Jewel” – has been well-received and has many 5-star reviews. She is launching the second book in the series on March 29th. Join me as I ask her a few questions to find out more about her and her intriguing tales!

Cover for ebooks

Elven Jewel (Published 2013)

The peaceful continent of Reloria is threatened by cruel invaders from the wastelands of Vergash. Halflings Randir and Fendi leave their peaceful farm village with their bond-fairies and race against time to stop the invaders. They join forces with dwarves, elves, men and a mysterious dragon, on a quest to rescue the stolen Elven Jewel.

Hunters' Quest ebook

Hunters’ Quest (out in paperback and ebook on March the 29th)

Scaly Vergai invaders have captured the Elven Jewel from Reloria. Halfling friends, Randir and Fendi,their bond-fairies, men, dwarves, an elf and a dragon are a group of brave hunters on a quest to recover the stolen Elven Jewel. They must search for a mage who can make a portal to Vergash to rescue the princess and restore the protective forcefield.

Welcome to the hot seat Kaz!

Thanks Fros – It’s great to be here!

I must say, I can’t wait to read the Hunters of Reloria series! And the artwork on the covers is fantastic, really adds to the anticipation! What has inspired you to write these books?

Firstly my son had two short stories published and I was so proud of him.  Then I helped a friend edit his fantasy book the following year and I was hooked!  I had a dream about halflings and their bond-fairies playing in a field of wheat and ‘Elven Jewel’ was born.  I just can’t stop the flow of ideas – it’s so much fun.

Tell me about the cover artwork. I am sure my readers would like to know.

I discovered on Facebook that a friend of mine does spray painting art for a hobby.  I asked him to do my covers and here’s the fantastic result.  I’m really getting keen to see my characters come to life and have run 2 art competitions so far with the prize being their picture on the book’s back cover.  Your readers are welcome to check out all the amazing entries on the Hunters website.

Any hobbies or interests that you enjoy in your spare time?

Reading, writing, hanging out with my friends and the occasional game of Candy Crush Saga (I admit it!). I also enjoy travelling and would love to visit Canada one day.

Do you see yourself in any of your characters or do any of them have traits you wish you had?

Honestly I think that I can relate a couple of Shari-Rose’s irritating qualities when I was a teenager.  I don’t think I was ever that terrible, but do understand some of her frustrations.  These days I’m a lot more mellow, like Baja, the fun-loving dwarf.

I really admire the huntress, Sienna, and sometimes in my busy life of juggling work, motherhood and writing, I wish I could take off for a long hunting trek all by myself.  I think that I’d eventually come back, but imagine how much writing I could do without the hustle and bustle of modern-day life.

What are you working on at the moment? Tell us a little about your current project(s).

On the 29th of March I’m having a party in Brisbane, Australia to celebrate the book launch of Hunters’ Quest.

I heard that Penguin Group Publishing has expressed an interest in your series! Is this true?

Yes, it is – but nothing definite as yet.

Oh well done, Kaz! Best of luck with that!

Thanks Fros, appreciate it. Lots of exciting stuff are happening at the moment actually. I have just taken book 3 to the editor.  It’s called Dragon’s Revenge and it is the conclusion to my Hunters of Reloria trilogy.  I hope that it’ll be ready by Christmas, but there’s still lots of work to do on it. I am also planning a collaboration with my son about the adventures of Fandri The Halfling and his bond-fairy.  I think it would be nice to tell his story as a prequel to the trilogy.  We’ll see how it goes.  My son is 12 and it would be great writing practice for him. Oh! And while we’re on the subject of my trilogy, can I just express one tiny request?

Sure! Mi casa su casa, as they say!

Well, I’m looking for reviewers for Hunter’s Quest (book 2 in the series) so if any of your readers are interested, they’re more than welcome to contact me for a copy in return for an honest review.

It’s a good idea asking my readers but I can help you with an extra resource as well! Head over to the blog of fellow authors Maria Savva and Darcia Helle where you will find a really helpful list of people gagging to do reviews for indie books! I am adding here the link for the benefit of any other authors: http://quietfurybooks.com/bestsellerboundrecommends/get-reviewed/

Awesome, thanks Fros!

We aim to please! So, on to the next question: Which are your favourite authors and what do you love about them?

David Eddings’ Belgariad is my all-time favourite.  It’s the style of writing I aspire to and I love the fun and adventure of his books.  I also enjoy Clive Cussler adventures for the sheer enjoyment and the historical tie-ins.

Tolkien (naturally).  I love Wilbur Smith’s River God trilogy.  I’m partial to vampire novels such as the Vampire Academy series (Yes, fully grown and still loving it!)  The Anita Blake Vampire Hunter books were also great.

Do you have any advice for other indie authors?

Listen and learn as much as you can and most importantly, don’t publish until your book is edited.  I’ve had to update my first book because I published it before it was professionally edited – all good now.

Social networking is a great way to connect with other authors and learn about the industry.

Tell us about your website/blog. What will readers find there?

I like to share lots of art on my webpage, so keep an eye on there for the next art competition. I’m bound to have one sooner or later.

Other things on my webpage include my book reviews, movies I watch and author interviews.  I only recently started doing the interviews and really enjoy them.

If you could have one superpower what would it be?

I would like to fly. Imagine soaring through the air like a dragon or a tiny fairy.  That would be most awesome.

Thank you for your time Kaz! It’s been fantastic chatting with you!

It’s been a pleasure for me too – many thanks Fros!

Kasper

About the Author

Kasper J. Beaumont was born and raised in Australia and lives a quiet life with the family in a seaside town. Kasper has combined a love of fantasy and a penchant for travel in this trilogy. Kasper started to write on the urging of friends and family and enjoys watching readers become immersed in the magical world of Reloria.  Kasper’s books are unique in the fantasy genre, with their halflings bonded to magical fairies.  Kasper is a member of the Fantasy and Sci-Fi Network and enjoys doing book reviews and author interviews.

Connect with Kasper

Facebook

Twitter

Website

Facebook page for the book launch

Amazon

Smashwords

Goodreads

6 responses to “An interview with Kasper Beaumont, author of the Hunters of Reloria Series

  1. Thanks so much Fros. I feel like I’ve just ‘come out’ to a few people. I do love having a pen name and find it easier to keep track of writing vs my other life. Thanks again, cheers, Kaz 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

