The magic paragraph that will get you more reviews!

140713_102230

Yesterday, I came across a gem of a post and felt that I absolutely had to share! Like everyone else, I read the odd article that offers useful information about every possible aspect of writing and marketing.Β  Yet, the little treasure I unearthed yesterday, stands out because it contained a simple, yet pretty logical tip for a problem that’s been plaguing me for a while. Although “The Necklace of Goddess Athena” has been downloaded by just over 2,100 readers since March during its FREE promo days, it’s still displayed on Amazon with a humble total of 16 reviews.

And it’s not like it’s been badly received, seeing that all said 16 reviews are 5 stars! So why am I not getting more reviews? What is it that makes readers rush back to the e-store to voice their opinion about other books by the hundreds, but not for mine?

I’ve suspected for a while that the main reason is that the majority of readers don’t realize the importance of reviews or indeed, of word of mouth. One of my most fervent fans, a Greek-American girl who wrote to me on Facebook, told me among other things that she loved my book so much that she’s now reading it again from the beginning. The next time I checked on Amazon, I was surprised to see that she hadn’t written a review, as it was something I sort of expected from a reader as enthusiastic as she seemed to be. I asked her to do that for me politely, explaining to her that it would be very helpful to me. She responded immediately, prompting me just minutes later to go back on Amazon and read her comments, which got me another precious, 5 star review.

The specific episode made me realize that actually, readers need a little nudge: something that will explain to them that writing a review is an act of support to authors, and therefore something they really appreciate. Under this light, provided they’ve liked the book of course, they feel immediately motivated to oblige.

Which brings me to the amazing post that I started telling you about. Fellow author Jackie Weger, has published thisΒ  post on the brilliant site ChoosyBookWorm. It just might save the day for any of you who share my frustration on this matter.

Jackie’s tip is so simple, it’s almost unbelievable. It entails the mere addition of a tiny paragraph in the book, just under ‘THE END’.

Apparently, it works like a charm and I for one, intend to try it! Jackie’s post is highly informative – there are lots more interesting tips to look into!

While you’re on the ChoosyBookWorm site, make sure to check out their free promo opportunities!

So what’s the magic paragraph, I hear you say? Find out, here!

 

18 responses to “The magic paragraph that will get you more reviews!

  1. This is an excellent blog post, Fros!
    The magic paragraph is a great idea!
    Regarding my review and your 10 statements: Both will be published in June (same week – both on your preferred weekdays). It is your choice which of these blog posts is published first.

    Like

    • Thank you for dropping by, Karen and for accomodating me so kindly! It is up to you honey, I am happy! I do follow your blog now but if it’s not too much trouble, please drop me a line when you publish them as to have a look and tweet about them, ok? hugs πŸ™‚

      Like

    • How wonderful to hear from you Jay! It is my honor to have you drop by on my blog! I love your site; you provide a great service and it’s not the first time I ‘advertized’ it to my author friends!! Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Effrosyni! Jay just sent me the link to your site about the article on Choosy. I am so happy that you found it helpful. I know you follow me and have been so kind to retweet for me. I appreciate it so much. It takes a community of authors paying it forward to get our titles in front of readers. Every kindness helps. I have a site called eNovel Authors at Work
    and almost every page has tips, especially the Useful links drop down.
    Too, if one checks the author pages, the authors often leave a recap in comments on their pages about how their promotions performed. Even the comments on our Welcome Page are enlightening. All the best to you!
    JackieWeger

    Like

    • Dear Jackie, thank you for visiting my blog, and for your kind comments. The first day I tweeted about your post I included your Twitter handle, but then removed it so that you don’t keep getting the notifications. If you’d rather you do, let me know and I will add it back. As it’s such a crazy good tip, I indend to keep tweeting about this indefinitely. The more indies see it the better, right? I totally agree with you that we’re all in this together and Jay is wonderful also in doing his bit, bless him. I will definitely visit your site, sounds awesome! Again, great to hear from you and congrats on your lovely post!!!

      Like

  3. A great blog post. I find that this is the best and the most time saving way to get reviews. You can focus on writing more books in that time than submitting it to various review sites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

