The secret is out: how to talk to your blog readers

84506133_Wyidb062_1400681929

I cannot recall if I’ve mentioned this before but I’ve always been absolutely fascinated by the workings of the human mind (the subconscious in particular). I’ve always loved to read and practice anything that can reveal to me any new tantalising secrets, so over the course of nearly 30 years I’ve researched it all: meditation, affirmations, the Silva Mind Control Method, Neurolinguistic Programming, American self-help books of the early 20th century, self-hypnosis with binaural beats or subliminal messages etc.

Naturally, I’m always on the lookout too for marketing tips based on psychology, and so, when I stumbled upon an article on the subject of wording conventions that affect the mind of readers on a subconscious level, I was inevitably impressed. The article was posted on the site Men With Pens and is titled “9 Clever Writing Tips to Supercharge Your Blog Posts”. I found it greatly beneficial and thought I’d share it with you guys.

Basically, it suggests certain tweaks in our prose, as to liven up our form of address towards readers. They’re meant to make them feel closer to us, as if spoken to in a private conversation. These tricks make sure that what you say sounds more confident and at the same time impresses the mind of your reader and motivates them.

For example, did you know that contractions will make you sound more approachable and friendly?

This should be an interesting read for everyone, but if you’re a blogger, you’ll get the most value out of it. The article’s author, Ali Luke, is a writing coach. You can read her article, here.

If you have any relevant tips, please comment so that we may all benefit. Have a great week, everyone!

12 responses to “The secret is out: how to talk to your blog readers

    • Hi Linnea and thank you so much for reblogging so many of my posts. I must say, I have a strange problem every time I visit Appollo’s Raven to thank you for the reblog. I always get the dreaded ‘404 page not found’ page! You may want to look into it maybe. I hope it’s only me having this problem and that others can see your reblogged posts ok. Again, thank you honey πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I’ve had some issues with my blog which I an trying to sort out with a web designer. I have enjoyed following you.

        Best regards,
        Linnea

        Like

Leave a Reply

