Greek delights: Imam Baildi (eggplants in tomato sauce)

140723_205709

Every year since their retirement, my parents have split their lives by half in two places. From October to April they live in Athens next door to me and from April to October in their summer home on the Greek island of Lemnos where dad comes from. There, they have a large expanse of land where dad tends to every vegetable plant imaginable, as well as raising a pig, a sheep and a bunch of chickens every year. When they return next door early October, their spacious car trunk is full to the brim with fresh, organic produce, lots of which wind up in my fridge and freezer to last me all winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In this serene environment and with this view from his property, my father is inspired to farm every year to his heart’s content.

This year has been no different. One of the first organic vegetables I chose to cook was a combination of dark purple and light green eggplants from my dad’s land. The way I enjoy them the most is in the Turkish dish Imam Baildi that has been adopted by the Greeks (that’s 400 years of slavery for you!) and is regarded as a Greek dish these days too. Loosely translated from Turkish, Imam Baildi means ‘The priest has fainted” which is no surprise, seeing that when traditionally prepared, this casserole, made with lashings of olive oil and rich spices, can be heavy on the stomach when consumed in large quantities. Yet, fear not as my version is light and healthy. I don’t fry the eggplants in preparation for the pot, but instead boil them in water.

So, read on and here’s a promise: cook this version and there won’t be any bearded old men in long black robes fainting on your kitchen table!

INGREDIENTS  (serves 3-4)
3 large eggplants (or 4 medium ones)
1 large red onion (sliced finely)
1-2 garlic cloves (chopped)
1 beef tomato (skinned and chopped)
1/2 a pack (or tin) of tomato purée
1/2 teaspoon of sugar
Parsley (chopped)
Extra virgin olive oil
Salt, pepper
A sprinkle of nutmeg or turmeric (optional)

PREPARATION
Cut the eggplants in half lengthways, then chop each piece in two or three pieces depending on size. Throw them in a pot of boiling water and add a generous amount of salt. Boil for 5 minutes in high heat, uncovered. The salt will rid the eggplants from their bitter taste. Put them through a sieve, leave them aside for later.

In a large pot, put a generous amount of olive oil (what you would put in a tomato sauce for pasta – about 1/3 of a wine glass). Sauté the onion and the garlic lightly, add the tomato purée, the tomato chunks and about half a cup of water from a kettle. Add salt, pepper, sugar, and nutmeg or turmeric, if using. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

Add the eggplants to the pot, placing them with the fleshy side down and pressing them gently into the sauce. Turn up the heat and add more water from the kettle as needed so that the eggplant pieces can cook comfortably. They should be immersed at least half way into the liquid. Bring to the boil, cover and simmer for 30-40 minutes. Halfway through, turn over any large pieces gently with two forks.

Taste and add salt if needed. Add the chopped parsley. Let it simmer for another couple of minutes, but if there’s still a lot of liquid, leave the pot uncovered and turn up the heat. Boil till the sauce thickens. Best served with french fries, fresh bread and feta cheese.

Kali Orexi!

 

140723_205726

 KALI OREXI!

 

 

 

11 responses to “Greek delights: Imam Baildi (eggplants in tomato sauce)

    • I know what you mean: moussaka and papoutsakia, right? Yummy! Sadly, I am too lazy/busy (usually both!) to cook these time-consuming dishes so I leave it to my mom or the odd taverna to please my tastebuds with those, lol. Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      • oh yep, but not only the ‘aegean’ ones 🙂
        I’m from Italy, and we have similar recipes: ‘stuffed’ eggplants, similar to papoutskaia, maybe a little ‘lighter’ 🙂 , or the eggplant parmesan, another ‘leave it to mom’ affaire… 😀
        (or the simple ratatouille by the way)

        Like

    • Sei Italiano? Stessa faccia stessa raccia, no? Haha, pleasure to meet you my friend! I am not too familiar with Italian eggplant dishes but what you describe sounds absolutely heavenly! Buona giornata amico 🙂

      Like

  1. Oh you naughty thing, you! You serve it with french fries? I’m positively drooling after feasting on dry chicken fillet and veggies (from the office canteen)…

    Like

    • I don’t normally, haha. But I got a full crate of organic Lemnos potatoes too and they have to go, LOL.. The norm for us is no fries and no bread but we do make the odd naughty exception every once in a while. So don’t feel so bad, LOL 😛

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on kritsayvonne and commented:
    Imam Baildi is always one of the first dishes I cook on my return to Crete where my eggplants (aubergines) come from the farmer’s market in Agios Nikolaos. This version uses different spices to mine so I can’t wait to try it….mmmm hope aubergines are available in January.

    Like

    • Great to hear from you Yvonne and I’m very thankful for the reblog! I know, the addition of turmeric makes it my own version of the meal. I use it on most of my casseroles for its yummy taste but also for its rich antioxidant and analgesic properties. I hope you will enjoy this recipe, dear 🙂

      Like

  3. Yassas! One of the first dishes I cook on my return to Crete where my eggplants (aubergines) come from the farmer’s market in Agios Nikolaos. This version uses different spices to mine so I can’t wait to try it….mmmm hope aubergines are available in January. Hope you don’t mind that I’ve reblogged your recipe.

    Best wishes Yvonne

    Like

Leave a Reply

