GREEK MEZE: oven-baked peppers with olive oil and vinegar

20150928_131654

Today, I’m back to talk about another of my favorite delicacies for ouzo time.  You know, around 11:00 o’ clock, when you need a little something to keep you going till lunch. Ouzo is not compulsory to accompany this mouth-watering snack, of course. Just grab a slice or two of fresh bread, a bit of cheese, maybe some olives, and you’re ready for the Greek meze experience!

20150928_080305

Every summer, I get a good supply of yummy, organic peppers from my garden. Since I only cook for my husband and me, it makes sense to prepare the peppers in a way that they can keep longer. What I do is bake them, then baste them in olive oil and vinegar. They keep for over a week in the fridge like this, but of course, they only last for just a couple of days, seeing that my husband and I love them as a side dish and they go with virtually anything. The recipe is simple and easy.

INGREDIENTS

20-25 green peppers

Salt, red wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil.

PREPARATION

Wash the peppers well and cut off the stalks with a vegetable knife.

Place them in a cooking tray lined with oven paper or aluminum foil. No need to pierce them or cut them up.

20150928_122431

Bake on a low shelf (I use the second from the bottom) for 30 minutes at 180 degrees C.

I use the grill-and-air setting in my oven. Keep an eye on the oven in case cooking time varies for yours.

When ready, they will have dark patches here and there – that’s fine. They look like this:

 

20150928_130353

There’s no need to skin them. Place them in a large bowl or platter, a few at a time, sprinkle salt, olive oil, vinegar. Mix. Add more peppers and continue till you’ve done them all.

Taste them and see if they need more vinegar or salt. Have some fresh bread at the ready. I guarantee you’ll eat lots while you put them in the bowl! Personally, I can never resist it!

Once you’re done mixing, transfer them to a container with a lid, then put them in the fridge.

You can enjoy them at room temperature or cold from the fridge.

For another great choice for meze, check out my fried cauliflower floret recipe.

Here’s a list of all my recipes: https://effrosinimoss.wordpress.com/category/greek-recipes-2/

FB post falls in love haunt her

Do you enjoy Greek food? My award-winning romance set in 1980s Corfu brims over with tastes and smells of delicious Greek dishes. Check it out on Amazon!
UK: http://amzn.to/1OsVcu2
US: http://amzn.to/1qQIueg 

 

6 responses to “GREEK MEZE: oven-baked peppers with olive oil and vinegar

  1. OMG! Frossie! I am going to bake peppers this week.They look so tasty. I luv sweet peppers. I didn’t know you keep a garden.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Jackie! Yes, just a small front patch, mind you, but for two people it’s more than enough. I’m pleased you liked the recipe and hope you’ll enjoy the peppers with a local, Texan aperitif!

      Like

Leave a Reply

