Pasta with smoked tuna and herbs

My previous post was a recipe for Briam, a traditional Greek summer meal that’s delicious and quick to make! Who wants to be in the kitchen cooking when the beach beckons, right? Today’s recipe, pasta with smoked tuna and herbs, also requires very little preparation. Truly, the only problem I’ve had with this meal is my husband loves it so much he keeps asking me to make it!

My recipe uses lemon zest. I realize fresh lemons is not an indispensable thing to stock if you’re not a Greek, but it’s worth getting one for this meal. Trust me, adding the zest will bring the yumminess to new heights! Luckily, I have two lemon trees in my garden and I never run out, no matter the weather, as you can see!

In case you’re wondering about the strange black plant, that’s my cat, Felix. He loves to use this specific plant pot to lie or sit in. The poor plant that was once in it is long gone, of course.

 

INGREDIENTS (Serves 2)

Tinned smoked tuna in brine or oil (160 gr approx gross weight)

200 gr of tubular pasta

2-3 spring onions

Dill, parsley

About 1/2 teaspoon of mustard

Lemon zest from 1 unwaxed lemon

Water from the cooked pasta

Extra virgin olive oil

 

PREPARATION

Boil the pasta in salted water according to instructions on the pack.

In the meantime, place the tuna in a bowl. Break it into bits with a spoon. Add onion, dill, parsley, mustard, lemon zest.

Take a cup of water from the pot of boiling pasta and set aside.

Drain the pasta, then add it to the bowl with the other ingredients.

Add salt, pepper, a little olive oil, a little water from the cup. Mix well.

Taste, and add salt, pepper, olive oil and hot water as needed to adjust the taste and the texture to your liking.

In the below photo, you can see I served it last time with tinned dolmadakia and a green salad. Why tinned? I am cutting corners. It’s the summer and I live close to the beach – nuff said 😉

Kali orexi!

Note: The same meal can be made with boiled potatoes instead of pasta. In this case, serve with a little mayonnaise. Also, you can  try sesame oil instead of olive oil in this variation.

 

Are you a pasta lover? Try this equally easy and quick recipe! Zucchini, garlic and herbs! Need I say more? https://effrosinimoss.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/quick-pasta-with-zucchini/

 

Hungry for more? Browse through all my recipes here: https://effrosinimoss.wordpress.com/category/greek-recipes-2/

Do you love Greek food? In my romance The Ebb, I have recorded real memories from Corfu in the 80s that involve my granny’s exquisite cooking.
Check it out today and get ready to feel ravenous! http://effrosyniwrites.com/books/the-lady-of-the-pier-the-ebb/
4 responses to “Pasta with smoked tuna and herbs

  1. Great, I was just wondering what to cook tonight without having to go shopping first. This will do nicely, thank you and I have all the ingredients. I may not be Greek but I usually have lemons in stock for my gin & tonic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

