Book Review: The Power of Six by Nicholas Rossis

the-power-of-six-cover-2

The Power of Six amazed me. Being a sci-fi fan, I’ve read a multitude of short stories from the masters of the genre, like Philip K. Dick and Brian Aldiss and I was dumbfounded by the similarities in places. For example, “Simulation Over” might as well have been written by either of the aforementioned sci-fi geniuses! Nicholas Rossis engages the reader with unexpected twists and turns, life-like characters and endings that give you quite a jolt! It is hard to pick favorites as each story was unique and equally entertaining but I must say that I particularly enjoyed “The Sentry”. I found it utterly delightful and brilliant!

I’ve read the first two books of this author’s Pearseus series and so, I was confident that I’d picked up a book that was bound to demonstrate excellence of both thought and language. Yet, nothing could have prepared me for the originality and the surprise factor in some of these stories. My only grievance with the Power of Six is its size! I would have preferred it to be called The Power of 10 or even 20 – but maybe next time! I’m really looking forward to reading more of this genre from this author. Nicholas Rossis has truly excelled with this book. His talent for the particular genre just shines through.

My rating: 

five star4

A delightful anthology of sci-fi magic!

Check it out on Amazon.

5 responses to “Book Review: The Power of Six by Nicholas Rossis

  1. Ah, Fros, you got me this time! 🙂 I’m about to post my 5-star review of The Power of Six. Couldn’t agree more! Plus The Sentry was my favorite as well. Didn’t see that coming! Amazing work and so readable!

    Like

Leave a comment